Three Badgers Earn NAC Softball Honors

Three Badgers Earn NAC Softball Honors

WATERVILLE, MAINE – Johnson State College women's softball seniors Jennie Moore (Peachem, Vt.) and Anna Bingham (Island Pond, Vt.), and junior Kasie Craig (Newbury, Vt.) were among those honored by the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) on Wednesday as the conference announced its end of season awards.

Moore was voted the Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year, while Bingham was named to the All-Conference Second Team and Craig was named to the Sportsmanship Team.  

Moore is being recognized for excelling academically and athletically throughout her undergraduate experience, while serving as a role model in both the classroom and on the field. The scholar athlete is studying Elementary Education, while minoring in Special Education. She has been named on the Johnson State Dean's List for six semesters, the President's List twice, and to the NAC All-Academic Team twice. The senior was selected to the APPLE Conference, received the Johnson State Education Department outstanding achievement award in 2016 and served as a SAAC officer for three years. In both 2016 and 2017 she was selected as the Division III Week Badger character award winner. Moore has volunteered her time for Kids Night Out events, several Color Runs, Special Olympics basketball events, and as a summer camp head counselor. In her career on the field, the senior played in 94 games and recorded 36 hits, 33 runs, 21 walks, 16 RBI, 13 stolen bases, five doubles, two triples and one home run.

Bingham earns All-Conference Second Team honors for the third time in her career, after being named to the team her freshman and sophomore years. This season, the senior played in 22 games, hitting .393 with three doubles, two triples, four RBIs, three walks and five stolen bases.

Craig, a three-year member of the softball team, was named to the NAC Softball Sportsmanship Team which is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the softball culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette.