Keven John Named Head Men's and Women's Volleyball Coach/Administrator

Keven John Named Head Men's and Women's Volleyball Coach/Administrator

JOHNSON, Vt. – Johnson State College Director of Athletics and Recreation Jamey Ventura announced on Thursday the hiring of Keven John as Head Men's and Women's Volleyball Coach/Administrator. John will be the first men's volleyball coach in program history, while serving as the third head coach for the women's program.

"Keven has an outstanding volleyball and administrative background that we feel made him the perfect candidate for this position," says Ventura. "We are confident that he will do a fantastic job building our new men's volleyball program, bringing our women's program to a competitive level in the conference, and assisting our athletic department as an administrator."

John comes to Johnson following four seasons as head women's volleyball coach at NCAA Division II Western State Colorado University. John was named RMAC Coach of the Year in 2015, the same year he led the program to its first conference tournament appearance in 12 years. In his time with the Mountaineers, John coached eight players to earn all-conference honors.  

Prior to his time at Western State Colorado, John was head women's volleyball coach at NJCAA Division I Snow College in Utah for three seasons.  While at Snow, John led the Badgers to #8 in the NJCAA National Rankings and 13 wins against top 20 teams. He coached 11 All-Conference players, three All-Americans, and eight Academic All-Americans. John previously spent time as an assistant coach at Marietta College and Colorado Northwestern Community College, and also founded and led Black Forest Volleyball Club from 1997 to 2005.

"I am pleased to be part of the new Northern Vermont University tradition," says John. "I can't wait to roll up my sleeves and help establish a winning mindset among the women's program this fall and men's program next spring." 

John earned a Bachelor of Science in Sports Science from the United States Sports Academy in 2010.